A- A A+

blue icon - red icon - green icon - black icon




  1. In 1975, the Government established the National Advisory Council on the Integration of Women in Development (NACIWID) as the machinery to ensure the involvement of women in development. The secretariat of this council was the Implementation Coordination Unit of the Prime Minister’s Department. Its members were appointed by the Prime Minister for a period of three years.
  2. In 1983, the Secretariat for Women’s Affairs at the Prime Minister’s Department, or HAWA, was established to take over the functions of the NACIWID Secretariat.
  3. On 26 August 1985, it was agreed at the cabinet meeting that HAWA be strengthened by upgrading it to a division.
  4. On 27 October 1990, the Division for Women’s Affairs was moved from the Prime Minister’s Department to the Ministry of National Unity and Community Development.
  5. On 29 January 1997, the cabinet decided to upgrade the Division for Women’s Affairs to a department.
  6. On 1 July 1997, HAWA operated as a department under the Ministry of National Unity and Community Development.
  7. On 18 December 1999, following the general elections and cabinet reshuffle, the Department for Women’s Affairs was once again placed under the Prime Minister’s Department.
  8. On 1 July 2001, the Department for Women’s Affairs was restructured and renamed the Department of Women’s Development. It functions as the implementing machinery for the Ministry of Women, Family and Community Development and carries out programmes and activities for the development of women consistent with the vision and mission of the Ministry. The department is made up of five (5) divisions:-
    • Women Policy Implementation Division
    • Capacity Building Division
    • Coordination, Monitoring and Evaluation Division
    • Guidance and Counselling Division
    • Management Services Division
  1. On 1 March 2002, the department’s branch offices, i.e. Women Development State Offices, were established:-
    • Perlis Women’s Development Office
    • Kedah Women’s Development Office
    • Pahang Women’s Development Office
    • Pulau Pinang Women’s Development Office
    • Perak Women’s Development Office
    • Selangor Women’s Development Office
    • Negeri Sembilan Women’s Development Office
    • Melaka Women’s Development Office
    • Johor Women’s Development Office
    • Terengganu Women’s Development Office
    • Kelantan Women’s Development Office
    • Federal Territory of Labuan Women’s Development Office
    • Federal Territory of Kuala Lumpur Women’s Development Office


A leader in the development of society towards common prosperity


To increase the involvement and capacity of women in various sectors at all levels to contribute and be agents of national development.

Last updated on . Hits: 259